SF State’s Net Impact MBA student organization achieves gold status

The Net Impact MBA student organization at San Francisco State University was able to achieve gold status this year due to the hard work of their student leadership team in providing all students at SF State with a variety of opportunities to learn about environmental sustainability. 

During Business Ethics Week for the fall 2015 semester, the chapter co-hosted a speaker panel titled Clif Bar’s Supply Chain and Sustainability that covered different sustainable initiatives at Clif Bar aimed at reducing the organization's environmental impact through changes in its supply chain. A few weeks after the speaker panel, the chapter hosted a tour of SF Recology Waste Transfer and Recycling Center. This two-fold private tour explained the basics of what goes in each bin, how the company sorts, handles and disposes of all of its incoming trash, recyclables and compostables. 

During the spring 2016 semester, the chapter held a Leaders in Sustainability speaker panel that included a representative from a B-Corp (Equator Coffee), a Non-Profit (Kiva.org), and a For-Profit company (Tesla Motors). The goal of this panel was to contrast how a company’s structure can alter the implementation of sustainable initiatives, as well as to give students advice on sustainability practices and lessons learned in promoting the triple bottom line. The final event for the 2015-2016 academic year was a screening of the documentary Cowspiracy: The Sustainability Secret, which was followed by a Q&A session with one of the film’s directors. The goal of this event was to highlight the environmental impact of the animal agriculture industry, an extremely under-represented cause of climate change. 

By hosting these events, our chapter was able to meet the new requirements for Gold Status from Net Impact Central. This status is used by Net Impact to recognize chapters which go above and beyond in providing opportunities for development to its members.

Net Impact @ SFSU Leaders for spring 2016:

  • Mariana Chinellato – Co-President
  • Amir Yousef – Co-President
  • Michael Hamm – Co-Vice President
  • David Talley – Co-Vice President
  • Ryana Barbosa – VP of Social Media
  • Ankit Joshi – VP of Marketing
  • Denil Patel – VP of Membership
  • Ceci Zhang – VP of Finance
  • Gayeon Kim - VP of Finance
  • Laura Pruden – VP of Web Content
  • Tu Anh Dinh – VP of Events
  • Jessica Carroll – VP of Campus Greening
  • Morwenna Rowe – VP of Newsletter
  • Faculty Advisor – Professor Denise Kleinrichert