College of Business {College of Business}

Image: Photos of SF State students

Scholarship Award Recipients Announced

News + Events : Scholarship Award Recipients Announced


Congratulations!<?xml:namespace prefix = o ns = "urn:schemas-microsoft-com:office:office" /?>

The College of Business is pleased to announce the scholarship award recipients for 2006. We extend our congratulations and best wishes to the students, and for the generous support of the scholarship donors. Pictures from the Reception can be found at the bottom of the page.

Alumni Scholarship Foundation
Purpose: The Alumni Scholarship Association grants scholarships of $1,000 each to students who have SF State University Graduate status. Applicants are required to have a minimum cumulative grade point average of 3.25, and must be enrolled full-time (8 units or more) for the fall 2006 semester. Scholarships are merit and need based.
Recipient: Edward Pakdaman


ACCT Chair Jiunn Huang with Nicholle AlvesChevron Scholarship (ACCT)
Purpose: Chevron gives $5,000 per academic year for up to five scholarships in accounting. There are four faculty-nominated awards and one student-nominated award. Chevron is an active recruiter of CoB students for internships and permanent employment. Jason Beach, Chevron Scholarship representative, is an alumnus of the accounting program.
Accounting Chair Jiunn Huang with recipient Nicholle Alves
Recipients: Fall 2005—Sally Chau, Rebecca Dura
Spring 2006—Nicholle Alves, Hutson Tapp, Pamela Xie


Financial Women’s Association
Purpose: FWA scholarships encourage leadership and provide opportunity for San Francisco Bay Area women in the field of finance and/or the Financial Services Industry. In 2006, FWA awarded 12 scholarships to undergraduates at $5,000 each and to graduate students at $10,000 each.

In addition to the financial award, scholarship recipients are honored at an FWA luncheon in August, receive a paid one-year Associate-level FWA membership, and are eligible for FWA’s mentoring program. Affiliation with the Financial Women’s Association provides students with the invaluable opportunity to network with successful finance professionals.
Recipient: Yan Sun


Hong Kong Association of Northern California Scholarship for Bilingual (Chinese/English) Students
Purpose: To award $2,000 per academic year ($1,000 in each of fall and spring semesters) to bilingual (Chinese/English) graduate or undergraduate SFSU College of Business students who demonstrate academic excellence and have financial need.
Recipients: Estefania Chan, Leng Chao, Cindy Djunaedi, Mendy Guan, Jianfu Huang, Xueqian Huang, Candice Lam, Yan Lok Ngan, Yan Sun, Hei Wong


Hotel/Restaurant Foundation Scholarship

Purpose: The Hotel and Restaurant Foundation awards scholarships to Hospitality Management students who have earned 2.6 overall GPA for semesters completed and 3.0 GPA for all completed hospitality management courses; are carrying at least 12 units at the time of application is made; and have employer-verified hospitality industry work experience. Applicants are judged on grades, leadership capabilities, industry experience, communication skills (both written and verbal), clarity of personal and career goals, and financial need.

Recipients: Pooyeh Banifazi, Francisco Carrasco, Christine Cheung, Margaret Herrema, Mitchol Hong, Monchai Kamprasert, Piyaporn Kunakornvong, Candice Lam, Brenda Locke, Marie Madrid, Csaba Molnar, Yoko Nakanishi, Janine Pascual, Kristina Schubert, Josephine Amphorn, Praweenuch Trairatana, Garin Wong, Isabell Wu


International Gold and Silver Plate Society

Purpose: The International Gold & Silver Plate Society is managed by the International Foodservice Manufacturers Association (IFMA) which comprises top foodservice operator leaders. The Society provides stipends annually in the amount of $1,000 each to institutions that have an approved internship/externship programs.

Recipient: Jackie Tang

Lawrence Chan Scholarship

Purpose: Three $1,000 scholarships are available for eligible students who have declared Hotel Management as their major at SFSU, are currently either sophomore or junior students with a cumulative grade-point average of at least 3.0 at SFSU, and are carrying at least 12 units of classes. Selection criteria is based on academic rating, student participation and leadership, financial need, work experience and career goals in the hotel industry after graduation.

Recipients: Francisco Carrasco, Isabell Wu, Kristine Lind


John Sims with Dean Nancy HayesLegal Marketing Association Bay Area Erick Vargas Memorial Scholarship for Undergraduate Majors

Purpose: To award $1,000 per academic year ($500 in each of fall and spring semesters) to an undergraduate SFSU College of Business major at any class level with financial need who is enrolled at least half time with a minimum GPA of 2.5. The scholarship is available on a competitive basis.
Recipient John Sims with Dean Nancy Hayes


Lori’s Diner Scholarship

Purpose: To award $1,000 scholarship per student per semester (maximum of five in fall and five in spring semesters) to students majoring in Hospitality Management who have completed internship programs with Lori’s Diner International. Recipients must be students in the Department of Hospitality Management at SFSU, have financial need, and have a minimum GPA of 2.0.

Recipients: Christina Tang, Tami Tsuneta, Joel Vidal


Moss Adams LLP Scholarship

Purpose: This scholarship is awarded once each spring semester. Moss Adams LLP is an accounting firm that actively recruits CoB students for jobs and internships.

Recipient: Hutson Tapp


Josh Rosenberg with Dean Nancy HayesP.Y. Wen Memorial Scholarship

Purpose: To promote business careers and create leadership opportunities for California resident students in their freshman year at the SF State, College of Business.

Recipient Josh Rosenberg with Dean Nancy Hayes

Chair Janet Sim with Angel ChaoSF State University Graduate’s Special Scholarship Fund

A special Hospitality Management scholarship where money is donated by the past graduates of the program.

Janet Sim, Chair, Hospitality Management with recipient Angel Chao

JUST ADDED! Women in Logistics Scholarship. Click for details

Pictures from the Reception

reception attendees

Representatives from University Development
and the Hospitality Management Department
attend the reception.
reception attendees

Janet Sim, second from right, congratulates scholarship recipients.
reception attendees

Caran Colvin, far right, Associate Dean, joins student
scholarship recipients.
reception attendees

Scholarship recipients enjoy the reception.

Share this story:

SF State Home